Flixton Primary Image


PSHCE At Flixton Primary School

At Flixton Primary School we aim to promote healthy, independent and responsible members of society. We encourage all our pupils to play a positive role in contributing to school life. Our pupils are given opportunities in PSHCE lessons and assemblies to develop confidence, self-motivation and an understanding of their rights and responsibilities within our diverse society.

We teach PSHCE in a variety of ways: as a discrete subject, via assemblies and cross curricular through other subjects such as RE, History, Geography and Science. We also feel that PSHCE is of vital importance post COVID, therefore it is expected to have some sort of invovlement in all classrooms on daily basis. 

How do we teach PSHCE...

PSHCE is split into 4 main catagories; HeartSmart and The Zones of Regulation followed by Drugs Education and Sex/Relationships Education which became statutory in all primary schools in September 2020. 

Screen Shot 2021-05-19 at 16.12.33.png

So now you know how we teach PSHCE, let's delve a little deeper...


What is HeartSmart you may ask... 

HeartSmart is a creative new approach that many primary schools use to build character, emotional health and resilience in children. It equips them with the foundational principles and skills that will improve their mental health, relationships and academic achievement. As a school we recognise the value of educating the heart alongside educating the mind and HeartSmart is a great tool to do just that.

The HeartSmart High Five

Screen Shot 2021-05-20 at 08.05.39.png

Here is a short video to give you a little more information about HeartSmart.


The Zones of Regulation

The Zones of Regulation framework and curriculum (Kuypers, 2011) teaches students scaffolded skills toward developing a metacognitive pathway to build awareness of their feelings/internal state and utilize a variety of tools and strategies for regulation, prosocial skills, self-care, and overall wellness. This includes exploring tools and strategies for mindfulness, sensory integration, movement, thinking strategies, wellness, and healthy connection with others. The Zones of Regulation provides a common language and compassionate framework to support positive mental health and skill development for all, while serving as an inclusion strategy for neurodiverse learners, those who have experienced trauma, and/or have specific needs in terms of social, emotional, and behavioral development.

The Zones of Regulation creates a systematic approach to teach regulation by categorizing all the different ways we feel and states of alertness we experience into four concrete colored zones. Integrating in cognitive behavior therapy,  students build skills in emotional and sensory regulation, executive functioning, and social cognition. The framework is designed to help move students toward more independent regulation while also honoring and respecting each student and their unique self. 


Screen Shot 2021-05-20 at 14.30.58(1).png


The Red Zone is used to describe extremely heightened states of alertness and intense emotions.  A person may be elated or experiencing anger, rage, devastation, or terror when in the Red Zone. 

The Yellow Zone is also used to describe a heightened state of alertness and elevated emotions, however one has more control when they are in the Yellow Zone.  A person may be experiencing stress, frustration, anxiety, excitement, silliness, the wiggles, or nervousness when in the Yellow Zone.  

 Green Zone is used to describe a calm state of alertness. A person may be described as happy, focused, content, or ready to learn when in the Green Zone.  This is the zone where optimal learning occurs.  

 Blue Zone is used to describe low states of alertness and down feelings such as when one feels sad, tired, sick, or bored. 

Screen Shot 2021-05-20 at 14.50.22.png

The Zones can be compared to traffic signs.  When given a green light or in the Green Zone, one is “good to go”.  A yellow sign means be aware or take caution, which applies to the Yellow Zone.  A red light or stop sign means stop, and when one is the Red Zone this often is the case.  The Blue Zone can be compared to the rest area signs where one goes to rest or re-energize.


Relationship / Sex Education

What is RSE?...

Relationship and Sex Education, previously called Sex and Relationships Education, is a form of sex education taught in UK schools. RSE focuses on exploring the emotional, social and physical aspects of growing up, having relationships, engaging in sex, and learning about human sexuality and sexual health.

 The Department for Education has made changes to relationships and sex education following nationwide consultation which came into effect from September 2020 and all schools are required to comply with the updated requirements. The statutory guidance can be found at:


As RSE can be a sensitive subject to teach, we have included some FAQ's you my wish to read:  


Which year groups are taught RSE?

RSE is taught from nursery right the way through the school to year 6. However, the content of RSE lessons differs for each year group. If you click onto the documents at the bottom of the page you will be able to select your child's year group and inform yourselves of what they will be learning in their RSE lessons. 

When is RSE taught during the academic year?

RSE lessons are taught in the Summer term each year. 


How will I know when my child is being taught RSE?

Prior to all RSE lessons being taught, we send a letter home to inform parents. 


Files to Download